THE SOUTH – One Word Wednesday

By |2013-10-23T06:45:26-05:00October 23rd, 2013|one word Wednesday|0 Comments

Below are some fascinating facts I uncovered while doing research for a new series where the heroines will be southern belles.

As defined by the United States Census Bureau, the Southern region of the United States includes sixteen states


Other terms associated with THE SOUTH:

Old South includes the slave states of 1776 (Virginia, Delaware, Maryland, Georgia, North Carolina, and South Carolina) and/or all the slave states before 1860 (Kentucky, Tennessee, Alabama, Florida, Mississippi, Missouri, Arkansas, Louisiana, and Texas)

New South used to differentiate states of the slavery-based plantation system during the antebellum period with southern states since 1877. Includes Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, and Delaware

Deep South: those states and areas where things most often thought of as “Southern” exist in their most concentrated form. Includes Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, and South Carolina

Dixie: most commonly associated with the eleven states of the Old Confederacy, which were South Carolina, Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Texas, Virginia, Arkansas, Tennessee, and North Carolina.

I still haven’t decided exactly which southern state to use as the setting, but you can be sure I will be using these delightful characteristics of THE SOUTH throughout the series.

Jody's plaque2

YOUR TURN: Did I uncover any facts you didn’t know about THE SOUTH?